Staff & vacancies | Association of Anaesthetists
Return to top

Staff & vacancies

Current vacancies

Executive Editor for Anaesthesia Reports

The Association launched a fully independent case report journal, Anaesthesia Reports, in January 2019. This journal has now been PubMed listed and continues to thrive. The term of office of the current Executive Editor is ending, and therefore the Association of Anaesthetists is looking to appoint a new Executive Editor. The role is primarily email and web-based, but also requires attendance at Editorial Board meetings and in-person promotion of the Journal. The role involves communication, decision-making, reviewing submitted manuscripts and multimedia items and editing, as well as raising the profile of the Journal. The successful applicant should have a history of editing and publication, excellent written and spoken English language skills, strong strategic and leadership skills and exceptional time management. Previous editorial experience is required. The term of office is two years with up to two extensions. The honorarium for this office is £4700 per annum.

As well as the opportunity to work with an excellent and cohesive editorial team, rewards include free registration at major Association of Anaesthetists’ meetings.

Applicants should submit a statement of up to 500 words on the subject of ‘Future steps in developing Anaesthesia Reports’ to anaesthesia@anaesthetists.org, together with a short CV (no more than two A4 pages) and a cover letter justifying their application. Shortlisted candidates may be asked to perform editorial tasks and/or attend an interview as part of the selection process.

To discuss this post please contact the current Executive Editor, Dr Kariem El-Boghdadly, by email: editor-kariem@anaesthetists.org.

The closing date for applications is 17:00 on 12 March 2021 


Voluntary roles can be found on our voluntary roles page


Working for the Association

The Association offers competitive salaries and a good range of staff benefits which are summarised in our guide to working with us.

Job applicant privacy notice

Our job applicant privacy notice sets out, in line with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), the types of data we hold on you as a job applicant to the organisation. It also sets out how we use that information, how long we keep it for and other relevant information about your data.

Association staff

There are currently 36 staff employed by the Association. They are led by a senior management team reporting to the elected board of directors/trustees. The majority of staff are based at our headquarters at 21 Portland Place, in London.

Senior management team (SMT)

 Name Title
 Karin Pappenheim Chief Executive Officer
Nicola Heard Head of Education & Membership Services
Gemma Campbell Head of Support Services & Information Management
Vipan Narang Chief Operating Officer

Staff teams

You can contact different staff teams using the details below:

Team  Email Telephone
e-Education
learn@anaesthetists.org 0207 631 1650 option 2
Events  events@anaesthetists.org
0207 631 1650 option 2
Facilities facilities@anaesthetists.org 0207 631 1650 option 4 
Finance  finance@anaesthetists.org 0207 631 1650 option 8
Heritage Centre heritage@anaesthetists.org 0207 631 1650 option 7
Marketing marketing@anaesthetists.org 0207 631 1650 option 6   
Membership membership@anaesthetists.org 0207 631 1650 option 1 
Reception reception@anaesthetists.org 0207 631 1650 option 0
Secretariat secretariat@anaesthetists.org 0207 631 1650 option 3   
Specialist societies SpecSocs@anaesthetists.org 0207 631 1650 option 5   
Venue hire venuehire@anaesthetists.org 0207 631 1650 option 4   
Anaesthesia Journal anaesthesia@anaesthetists.org
Anaesthesia News anaenews@anaesthetists.org
Anaesthesia Reports anaesthesiareports@anaesthetists.org

Press

For media enquiries, case studies, and interview opportunities please contact:

press@anaesthetists.org (Monday - Friday 09:00-17:00)



You might also be interested in: