Faculty | Association of Anaesthetists
Return to top

This event is now closed for booking

Key Details

Keynote speakers

Dr Christine Ball, Melbourne, Australia

Dr Christine Ball

Dr Christine Ball is a specialist anaesthetist at the Alfred Hospital in Melbourne. She is an adjunct associate professor at Monash University, responsible for running part of the Master of Perioperative Medicine. She is also the honorary curator of the Geoffrey Kaye Museum of Anaesthetic History in Melbourne with a career long interest in the history of anaesthesia and many published articles and books on the subject. She is currently working on a biography of Joseph Clover. 

Prof Henrik Kehlet, Copenhagen, Denmark

Henrik_Kehlet_little photo_2013_Jon Norddahl

Henrik Kehlet, Prof., MD, PhD 

Section of Surgical Pathophysiology, Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen

Professor of Surgery and of Perioperative Therapy Copenhagen, Denmark.  Research within surgical pathophysiology, acute pain physiology, and postoperative recovery, condensed into the concept of ‘fast-track surgery’.  

Published about 1,000 scientific articles with > 300 invited lectures at international scientific meetings, including several honorary lectures. ASA Excellence in Research Award 2014.

Prof William Fawcett, Guildford

Bill Fawcett

Bill Fawcett studied medicine at Guy’s Hospital, London and was both a trainee and lecturer in London prior to taking up his current post as a Consultant in Anaesthesia and Pain Medicine, Royal Surrey County Hospital. He is also Senior Fellow at Surrey University, Honorary Senior Lecturer at University College, London and in 2018 was unanimously awarded Association of Anaesthetists’ Featherstone Professor of Anaesthesia. He is also an elected Board/Council of the Association of Anaesthetists and its Chair of Education. 

His major clinical interests are anaesthesia for hepato-pancreatico-biliary, laparoscopic colorectal, robotic urology and obstetric procedures. His research interests have included respiratory physiology, neuromuscular blockade, major liver surgery and Enhanced Recovery, focusing on analgesic and fluid regimes. A key area has been studying immunity and the stress response and to major surgery.

He has lectured worldwide and as a researcher has produced over 160 publications, including three textbooks, fourteen textbook chapters, eight review articles and five editorials, winning several national and international prizes, including two John Farndon Prizes for the best manuscript in the British Journal of Surgery in 2012 and 2016 and the 2018 British Medical Association Book of the year award (Anaesthesia category). He has co-written national/international consensus guidelines for Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) for colorectal surgery and caesarean section, as well as the management of epidurals for both the obstetric and non-obstetric patient. 

He is an Editor for BJA Education, a National Assessor and chapter writer for The Confidential Enquiries into Maternal Mortality (MBBRACE-UK). Closely involved with Enhanced Recovery After Surgery, he has held appointments at DOH and latterly as Executive Committee member for the World ERAS® Society. 



  • Dr Anthony Absalom, Groningen, Netherlands
  • Dr Gareth Ackland, London
  • Dr Eric Albrecht, Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Dr John Andrzejowski, Sheffield
  • Dr Katy Beard, Swansea
  • Dr Sarah Bell, Cardiff
  • Dr Danny Bryden, Intensive Care Medicine, Sheffield
  • Mr Mat Campbell-Hill, Non Executive Director, Dept for Culture, Media and Sport
  • Dr Chris Carey, Brighton
  • Dr John Carlisle, Torbay
  • Dr Joe Carter, Safe Injection System for Regional Anaesthesia (SAFIRA) 
  • Dr Ben Clevenger, London
  • Dr Jonathan Cousins, London
  • Prof Andrew Davidson, Melbourne, Australia
  • Dr Matthew Davies, Peterborough
  • Dr Judith Dinsmore, London
  • Dr Jonothan Earnshaw, Surgeon, Gloucestershire
  • Dr Kathleen Ferguson, President, Association of Anaesthetists
  • Prof Gerry Fitzpatrick, Vice President, College of Anaesthesiologists of Ireland
  • Dr Nick Flatt, Specialty Lead for Anaesthesia, BMA
  • Dr Nicolai Foss, Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Dr Aidan Fowler, National Director of Patient Safety, NHS England and  NHS Improvement
  • Dr Ben Fox, Kings Lynn
  • Wg Cdr Natalie Glover, Consultant Advisor Critical Care Air Support Team RAF, Cardiff
  • Dr Tony Goldstone, National Clinician Adviser on Pay & Pensions, BMA
  • Dr Andrew Grace, Cardiologist, Cambridge
  • Ms Eleanor Grey QC, Barrister, London
  • Dr John Griffiths, Oxford
  • Dr Jo Hardwick, Perioperative Physician, Oxford
  • Capt Jim Harlow, Captain, British Airways
  • Dr Lucy Hepburn, London
  • Dr Rosie Hogg, Belfast
  • Lt Col David Holdsworth, Cardiologist, Oxford
  • Mr Matt James, CEO, Private Healthcare Information Network (PHIN)
  • Prof David Lavalee, Dundee
  • Dr Helen Laycock, London
  • Dr Nicholas Levy, Bury St Edmunds
  • Dr Andrew Lumb, Leeds
  • Prof Ravi Mahajan, President, Royal College of Anaesthetists
  • Dr Michael Margarson, Chichester
  • Dr Jannicke Mellin-Olsen, President, World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists
  • Mr Neil Orpen, Director, Federation of Independent Organisations (FIPO)
  • Dr John Pappachan, Southampton
  • Prof Rupert Pearse, Intensive Care Medicine, London
  • Dr Simon Peck, Head of Investigations and Audit, Axa PPP healthcare
  • Dr Audrey Quinn, Middlesbrough
  • Dr Nancy Redfern, Newcastle
  • Dr Jonathan Redman, York
  • Dr Scott Rice, Radiologist, London
  • Dr Robin Russell, Oxford
  • Dr Ramai Santhirapala, London
  • Dr Rediet Shimeles, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
  • Dr David Shipway, Bristol
  • Prof Simon Thomas, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, Newcastle
  • Dr Lynda Wells, Charlottesville, USA
  • Dr Matt Wiles, Sheffield
  • Dr Sally Wilson, Neuroanaesthesia and Neurocritical Care, London
  • Dr Steve Yentis London