Association of Anaesthetists > Home > Education & events > Find an event > Event Details
Return to top

Event Details

Key Details


Tuesday 22 March 2022 18:00 - 20:00 (Login available 17:45)


Online Online


Members - £0
Trainess - £0
Non Members - £56


Book Now

Interested in organising a seminar?

We're looking for new seminar material, both lecture and workshop based.

About this webinar
Login will be available from 17:45, but the broadcast will not start until 18:00.

Joining the webinar
You can log in from the comfort of your own home, your office, or any where else that is convenient. All you need is a decent internet connection and a quiet room. If you are unable to attend live do not worry, you will be automatically sent the recording 24 hours after the webinar whether you attend or not.

Please ignore questions about access and dietary requirements during the booking process. Joining details will be sent automatically via email - please ensure the email we have for you is correct, and remember to check for updates in that email account in the week prior to the webinar.

Collaboration is the name of game and the John Smith Airway Award 2022

This year, for the second time, the Association of Anaesthetists will host an Airway Webinar dedicated to Dr John Smith (deceased) with three keynote talks focusing on collaboration in medical research and practice, followed by a presentation to the winner of the award.

Collaboration between healthcare professionals, institutions and internationally is more and more important and this has been brought sharply onto focus by the COVID-19 pandemic. Collaborative research has led to many exciting developments recently at greater speed than previously - the three keynote speaker will discuss their experience with collaborating for the good of our patients.
In putting together this webinar, Dr Klein has consulted with the late Dr Smith’s widow, Professor Fang Gao from Birmingham. His wish, as articulated to her, was for an award to be presented by the Association of Anaesthetists, for the best paper about airway management (research, education and patient safety) published in Anaesthesia from authors from anywhere in the world.
The Top Airway paper will be voted on by the Board of the Association and the Editors and Associate Editors (formerly known as the International Advisory Panel) and the winner announced at the webinar - the winner will be invited to summarise their work and follow-up planned.

Organiser: Prof Andrew Klein, Cambridge
Chair: Dr Kariem El-Boghdadly, London


Collaborative trainee network studies - Dr John Cronin (PLAN Trainee Network Chair and AeroComp Study Core Team Member)
COVIDSurg design and delivery at scale - Dr Elizabeth Li (COVIDSurg Investigator)
Collaborative international RCTs - Prof Sheila Myatra (Investigator COVID STEROID 2 Study)

Winner of the John Smith Airway Award for 2022 (best paper published in Anaesthesia in 2021)