Nominations are now open for the Association's Board/Council elections | Association of Anaesthetists
Return to top

Nominations are now open for the Association's Board/Council elections

Elections to the Association's Board and Council

16 March 2020

There are three vacancies for election to the Association’s Board, and we would like to encourage all full members to consider standing for election. 

The successful candidates will serve for a period of four years following the Annual Members Meeting in Harrogate in September 2020. 

Nominees, their proposers and seconders, must be full members of the Association in good standing. Nomination forms are available here or alternatively from the Association secretariat on 020 7631 1650 option 3 or

Please complete the form and scan and email a copy to or return it by post to: Dr Tim Meek, Honorary Secretary, Association of Anaesthetists, 21 Portland Place, London W1B 1PY. If returning your nomination form by post, please email a copy of your personal statement to

The deadline for receipt of nominations is 17:00 on Monday 6 April 2020. 

Download a nomination form

Read past examples of supporting statements

The present members of Board/Council are:

(a) Officers

Dr Kathleen Ferguson - President

Dr Mike Nathanson - President Elect

Dr Tim Meek - Honorary Secretary

Dr Ravi Gill - Honorary Treasurer

Dr Tei Sheraton - Honorary Membership Secretary

Prof Andrew Klein - Editor-in-Chief, Anaesthesia

Dr Paul Barker - Immediate Past Honorary Treasurer

Dr Upma Misra - Immediate Past Honorary Membership Secretary

Dr Matthew Davies - Honorary Secretary Elect

(b) Vice Presidents

Dr Nancy Redfern

(c) Elected Members

Dr Craig Bailey*

Prof William Fawcett*

Dr Ravi Rao-Baikady*

Dr Ann Harvey

Dr Mathew Patteril

Dr Mike Kinsella

Dr Robert Self

Dr Peter Young

Dr Robert Fleming

Dr Chris Mowatt

Dr John Ward

*denotes elected member term ending in September 2020

(d) Trainee Committee

Dr Sally El-Ghazali Chair, Trainee Committee

Dr Roopa McCrossan Honorary Secretary, Trainee Committee

(e) Co-opted to Council

Dr Aamer Ahmed - ESA Council UK representative

Dr Paul Bourke - Convenor, Scottish Standing Committee

Surg Cpt Steve Bree - Defence Anaesthesia Representative

Dr Richard Davidson - Clinical Director Network Representative

Dr Nick Flatt - Specialty Lead for Anaesthesia, BMA CC

Dr Keith Hodgson - Vice Chair, Trainee Committee

Dr Thomas James - Chair, SAS Committee

Dr Wouter Jonker - Convenor, Irish Standing Committee

Ms Paula Keats - Independent Specialist & Foundation Trustee

Dr Brian Kinirons - President, College of Anaesthesiologists of Ireland

Prof Ravi Mahajan - President, Royal College of Anaesthetists

Dr Isabeau Walker - Foundation Trustee

Find out more about the elections in March's issue of Anaesthesia News.

You may also be interested in: