Clinical Excellence Awards 2020 | Association of Anaesthetists
Return to top

Clinical Excellence Awards 2020

Clinical Excellence Awards

Clinical Excellence Awards (CEAs) are intended to recognise and reward exceptional contribution over and above what is normally expected in a post. The awards are made to medically qualified NHS consultants for a fixed term and may be renewed following review. In England, national CEA awards are assessed by the Advisory Committee on Clinical Excellence Awards (ACCEA) administered by the Department of Health (England). The Welsh Government has arranged that national applications for CEAs will also be assessed by the ACCEA. In Northern Ireland national level applications have been suspended in recent years. Guidance for local clinical excellence awards (LCEA) can be found on the NHS employers’ website.


The ACCEA have an indicative timetable for the 2020 applications which are due to open on Thursday 6 February 2020 and are expected to follow a similar format to previous years. The ACCEA closing date is 5pm on Friday 3 April 2020.

Until the ACCEA officially opens the award round, the application forms will not be available. We would suggest that you review the application forms and guidance for applicants from the previous year in preparation for the 2020 round.

The below forms are out of date and listed here for guidance only should not be used for the 2020 award process. 

ACCEA 2019 Guidance – for information

2019 application forms

Application guidance will be made available on the ACCEA website in line with the opening date. ACCEA will accept applications for new national awards and from those due to renew their award in 2020.

Useful links:

We will keep you up to date on the process as and when we get more information.

Association support for awards

The Association is registered as a nominating body. While we would like to support all our members, the Association is only able to support applications for: 26 bronze, 6 silver, 2 gold applications and national award renewals. Please note, renewals are scored and ranked by the same criteria as new applications.

Clinical Excellence Awards recognise and reward NHS consultants who perform ‘over and above’ the standard expected of their role. The Advisory Committee on Clinical Excellence Awards gives awards for quality and excellence, acknowledging personal contributions. We would not normally provide support for local awards. For those considering applying at the bronze level you must consider carefully the implications of leaving any local award scheme. If you decide to apply nationally and wish to be considered by the Association, you will need to comply with the timetable of the sponsoring organisation.

If you are likely to move employer or retire in the next 18 months you should ask the ACCEA for their advice.

The ranking lists and citations that our organisations supply are considered to be important supplements to the evidence contained in the Curriculum Vitae Questionnaire (CVQ). 

If you would like to be considered for Association support, when the process is open please email your completed ACCEA application forms (including the name and contact details of the person you would like to write your citation) to by: 17:00 on Monday 24 February 2020

Please note that we must have completed forms for renewal applications by the same date. Late applications will not be scored. For enquiries contact:

As with previous years, the responsibility for the actual online submission of the application to ACCEA will rest firmly with the applicant.

The deadline is: 17:00 on Friday 3 April 2020.