Association of Anaesthetists > Home > Education & events > Find an event > Event Details
Return to top

Event Details

Key Details


Tuesday 20 April 2021 18:00 - 20:00 (Login available 17:45)


Online Online


Members - £0
Trainess - £0
Non Members - £55


Book Now

Interested in organising a seminar?

We're looking for new seminar material, both lecture and workshop based.

About this webinar
Login will be available from 17:45, but the broadcast will not start until 18:00.

Joining the webinar
You can log in from the comfort of your own home, your office, or any where else that is convenient. All you need is a decent internet connection and a quiet room. If you are unable to attend live do not worry, you will be automatically sent the recording 24 hours after the webinar whether you attend or not.

Please ignore questions about access and dietary requirements during the booking process. Joining details will be sent automatically via email - please ensure the email we have for you is correct, and remember to check for updates in that email account in the week prior to the webinar.

In putting together this webinar Prof Klein has consulted with the late Dr Smith’s widow, Professor Fang Gao from Birmingham. His wishes, as articulated to her, was for an award to be presented by the Association of Anaesthetists, for the best paper about airway management (research, education and patient safety) to a paper published in Anaesthesia from authors from anywhere in the world.

This year, the associaiton will host an Airway Webinar dedicated to Dr John Smith (deceased) with three keynote talks followed by the award to the winner of the award by the President of the Association.

The Top 10 Airway papers will be put together by the Editors and voted on by the Board of the Association and the Editors and Associate Editors (formerly known as the International Advisory Panel) in the same way as the Top 10 for the paper of the year presented yearly for the last 5 years.

The winner will be invited to present their findings and follow-up work planned once they have been presented with the award.

Organisers and Chair, Prof Andrew Klein, Cambridge

Update on Project for Universal Management of Airways - Professor Sheila Myatra, President, All India Difficult Airway Association (AIDAA), Vice Chancellor, Indian College of Critical Care Medicine (ISCCM)
COVID-intubate study – update of data and findings from the World’s largest airway study in the COVID pandemic, relevant to patients and intubators. - Dr Danny Wong, London
Front-of-neck emergency tracheal access – an international registry, update from Prof Laura Duggan (Ottawa, Quebec)
A few words - Professor Fang Gao, widow of Dr John Smith
Winner of the John Smith Airway Award for 2021 (best paper published in Anaesthesia in 2020)