Evelyn Baker Award 2020 | Association of Anaesthetists
Return to top

Evelyn Baker Award 2020

Evelyn Baker Award 2020

Nominations are now invited for the Evelyn Baker Award. Nominations, accompanied by a citation of up to 1,000 words, should be sent to the Honorary Secretary at HonSecretary@anaesthetists.org by 17:00 on 31 July 2019.

What is the Evelyn Baker Award?

The Evelyn Baker Award was instigated by Dr Margaret Branthwaite in 1998, dedicated to the memory of one of her former patients at the Royal Brompton Hospital. The award is made for outstanding competence in all areas of anaesthetic practice: clinical excellence, teaching and training and supporting colleagues. The award recognises the ‘unsung heroes’ of anaesthetic departments.

Nominees are often described as the unspoken backbone of the department and the ‘go to’ person for clinical or other advice. Citations accompanying nominations for this award should describe how the individual being nominated demonstrates those characteristics and traits that set them apart from others.

The defining characteristics of clinical excellence are technical proficiency consistently reliable clinical judgement and wisdom, and skill in communicating with patients, their relatives and colleagues. The ability to train and enthuse trainee colleagues is seen as an integral part of communication skill, extending beyond formal teaching or academic presentation. Supporting colleagues and co-workers is a valued part of clinical practice and is recognised by this Award.

Nominees should normally still be in clinical practice. Members of the Association of Anaesthetists can nominate any practising anaesthetist who is also a member of the Association. The Award is unlikely to be given to someone in their first ten years as an SAS or consultant, and the nominee should not be in possession of a national Clinical Excellence Award.

Nominations should also include an indication that the nominee has broad support within their department. Additional comments from departmental and other colleagues are welcome

The Evelyn Baker Award is presented during the Winter Scientific Meeting (WSM) held each January in London.

Make your nomination

See past recipients